Big Ten Basketball Preview: Can Michigan State Repeat?

November 14, 2018

In the Big Ten, Michigan State has been known as the best basketball school. Though the Spartans won the regular season conference title, Michigan has been closing in on their in-state rival since John Beilein took over. The Wolverines hav e won the past two conference tournaments, and are looking for a third this season, despite losing Moritz Wagner, Duncan Robinson, and Muhammad-Ali Abdur-Rahkman. Purdue, Nebraska, and Indiana also look to challenge the state of Michigan for supremacy in the Big Ten.



  1. Michigan State

    • Player to Watch: Nick Ward (Jr.)

    • Projected Finish: Sweet 16

  2. Michigan

    • Player to Watch: Charles Matthews (Sr.)

    • Projected Finish: Elite 8

  3. Purdue

    • Player to Watch: Carsen Edwards (Jr.)

    • Projected Finish: Sweet 16

  4. Nebraska

    • Player to Watch: James Palmer Jr. (Sr.)

    • Projected Finish: Round of 64

  5. Indiana

    • Player to Watch: Romeo Langford (Fr.)

    • Projected Finish: Round of 32

  6. Wisconsin

    • Player to Watch: Ethan Happ (Grad)

    • Projected Finish: Round of 64

  7. Maryland

    • Player to Watch: Anthony Cowan Jr. (Jr.)

    • Projected Finish: First Four Out

  8. Minnesota

    • Player to Watch: Jordan Murphy (Sr.)

    • Projected Finish: NIT

  9. Penn State

    • Player to Watch: Lamar Stevens (Jr.)

    • Projected Finish: NIT

  10. Ohio State

    • Player to Watch: C.J. Jackson (Sr.)

    • Projected Finish: NIT

  11. Iowa

    • Player to Watch: Tyler Cook (Jr.)

    • Projected Finish: NIT

  12. Northwestern

    • Player to Watch: Ryan Taylor (Grad)

    • Projected Finish: 12th in conference

  13. Illinois

    • Player to Watch: Trent Frazier (So.)

    • Projected Finish: 13th in conference

  14. Rutgers

    • Player to Watch: Geo Baker (So.)

    • Projected Finish: 14th in conference


All-Conference Teams


First Team:

  • G Carsen Edwards, Purdue

  • G Charles Matthews, Michigan

  • G James Palmer Jr., Nebraska

  • F Juwan Morgan, Indiana

  • F Ethan Happ, Wisconsin

Second Team:

  • G Cassius Winston, Michigan State

  • G Anthony Cowan Jr., Maryland

  • G Romeo Langford, Indiana

  • F Jordan Murphy, Minnesota

  • F Nick Ward, Michigan State

Third Team:

  • G C.J. Jackson, Ohio State

  • G Zavier Simpson, Michigan

  • F Lamar Stevens, Penn State

  • F Tyler Cook, Iowa

  • F Isaac Copeland, Nebraska



  • Newcomer of the Year: Romeo Langford, Indiana

  • Coach of the Year: Tim Miles, Nebraska

  • Player of the Year: Ethan Happ, Wisconsin


Share on Facebook
Share on Twitter
Please reload

Follow No Huddle Sports

  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Instagram Social Icon
Listen to 
Outside The Huddle
Listen to Dry Ice

The Latest From No Huddle Sports

Please reload

Brought To You By